Creamy Vegan Grits with Greens and Garlic

I had to try this as soon as I saw the recipe. If I could think of one recipe that epitomizes the name of my blog, grits and greens would be it.

Here is the recipe:

Bryant Terry’s Creamy Vegan Grits with Garlic and Greens

Grits.

First of all, know that I can’t follow a recipe exactly no matter what I do. I just can’t help myself. In this case, I wanted it NOW and soaking cashews for three hours wasn’t going to happen.

I only soaked the cashews until the grits were done.  From what I can tell, that’s plenty of time only if you have a high powered blender/food processor. Don’t do it if you have inexpensive low-powered machines. Also, I might just omit the cashews all together next time. The broth and some nutritional yeast would give plenty of flavor. I believe that the cashews gave the recipe way too much fat. I also didn’t use oil to cook the onions. I just used a little broth. Be careful not to burn them.

I used quick 5-minute grits for the recipe, but don’t be fooled: Any good southerner knows that you cook grits for 30 minutes to an hour no matter what the directions say.

If I were to do it again, I would definitely use my instant pot to cook my grits. I just prefer not having to worry about sticking while I am cooking the amazing spinach.

Now for the spinach.

I didn’t use oil because I thought the fat from the nuts was PLENTY.  I also didn’t do the garlic chips so that the cloves were crispy and brown. I was tired and this recipe was a lot of work. Putting minced garlic in just before the spinach was just fine.

The taste of the spinach was divine! I used red wine vinegar because I was out of apple cider vinegar, but was amazing!

Forgive the paper bowl picture, but I am a southerner after all. That’s just the way we do things down here. I’m not in this to be fancy.

4C0E263E-D972-47D3-8039-6ACF15F6866C

 

Leave a Reply

